Perthshire Writers

Fine Writing from the Big County

Honorary President Margaret Gillies Brown

blair castle

| home | programme | projects | newsletters | writers | links | contact |

Click the quill to find us on Facebook

Perthshire Writers is currently closed to new members and is operating a waiting list. Please contact the secretary for further details.

Welcome message from William Duguid

crannog centre loch tay

kinnoull hill perth

drummond gardens crieff

About Us

Members of the group, founded in 1976, share their work in a friendly and supportive atmosphere. Some write purely for pleasure, while others have several publications to their credit. We cover all types of writing Ė poetry, short stories, articles, drama, etc. There are annual competitions judged by established writers from outwith the group.

At a typical meeting, members bring along and read work on a given theme, receiving comments and advice from other members. Information is also given about relevant conferences, competitions and other events for writers.

Over the years the group has had links with Perth Youth Theatre and Perth Hospital Radio, and has presented A Pocketful of Perthshire during Perth Festival of the Arts, with members performing poetry, prose and sketches in public. Occasionally we compile an anthology or other small booklet of membersí work.

Our programme runs from September through to May. We meet at 7:30 pm on the first and third Tuesdays of each month in the Murray Room, Salutation Hotel, 30 South Street, Perth PH2 8PH (see map).

Programme 2021-22

7 SepWelcome, introductions, discussion
21 SepWorkshop
5 OctClub Night
19 OctCritique Night
2 NovFlash Fiction Adjudication (Karen Jones)
16 NovClub Night
7 DecPoetry Adjudication (Jim Mackintosh)
21 DecSilent Auction and Workshop
4 JanClub Night
18 JanCritique Night
1 FebClub Night
15 FebOlive Lawrie Adjudication (Shirley Blair)
1 MarCritique Night
15 MarWorkshop
5 AprPresidentís Prize Announcement
19 AprAGM
26 AprAnnual Meal
3 MayStovie Night
(click on a date for details)

Visitors or potential new members are most welcome to come along to any of our meetings. The annual subscription is £30.00, and members pay a further £2.00 for each meeting attended. A postal subsciption of £15.00 is also available for those unable to attend meetings - please ask for details.

Further information is available from president William Duguid, secretary Anne Pack (01828 686510), treasurer Denise Goddard and SAW representative Katie Ogston.

Perthshire Writers is affiliated to the Scottish Association of Writers

scottish association of writers

Site designed by Iain Mackintosh
Tested on MS Edge, Firefox, Chrome, Opera and Safari - please report any problems via the contact page.
The assistance of VisitScotland/ScottishViewpoint in providing images is gratefully acknowledged.